WARNING - This page is no longer mantained! Please visit our new page here


Department of Philosophy & Social Studies
University of Crete
Campus of Rethymnon
74100 Rethymno

Phone number: ++30 2831077211/15/16
Fax number:++30 2831077222



  • Head of the Department: Georgios Nikolakakis / Assoc. Prof.
    Tel: 0030 28310 77236 / 77201
  • Departmental Secretary: Maria Mouzouraki
    Tel: 0030 28310 77211, Fax: 0030 28310 77241
  • Departmental Secretariat:
    • Maria Tzekaki
    • Stella Tzanoudaki
    Tel: 0030 28310 77215/6, Fax: 0030 28310 77222
  • Technical and Lab Assistants:
    • Giorgos Akoumianakis
      Tel: 0030 28310 77231

Structure of the Department

The Department of Philosophy and Social Studies contains two Divisions:
i) Philosophy, and
ii) Theory and Methodology of the Social Sciences,
both of which form part of a single Degree programme.

Research Facilities

The Department has four Research Centres/Labs:

  • The Centre for Philosophical Research and Translation
    Director: Stavroula Tsinorema.
  • The Centre for Social Research
    Director: Antonios Georgoulas.
  • The Psychology Laboratory
    Director: Giannis Kougioumoutzakis.
  • The Centre for Education and Practical Teacher's Training

A Computer Centre also available to students as an information, training and communications substructure. In addition, the University Main Library, to which all students have access with lending rights, has one of the largest collections of books in Greece and an exceptionally rich collection of academic journals and inter-loan facilities.

International Collaborations

In the course of their studies, students have the opportunity to attend courses in corresponding subjects at foreign universities. Under the Socrates-Erasmus EU Scheme, the Department participates in several inter-university programmes and has established collaboration with a number of academic Departments across Europe and USA: Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Universite de Metz, Ludwig-Maximilians Universitaet Muenchen, University of Edinburgh, Middlesex University, University of Sheffield, Universita degli Studi di Genova, University of Pittsburgh, University of Cyprus.